Would ice cream containing minute amounts of alcohol be considered as Haraam?
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
It is Halaal to consume such ice creams that contain the small amount of alcohol, on condition the alcohol used is not made from grapes or dates and the remaining ingredients of the item are all Halaal. The presence of very small amounts of alcohol, used as carriers or solvents does not intoxicate even if such products are consumed in large amounts, therefore is permissible.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Mufti Arshad Ali
Darul Iftaa, Jaamia Madinatul Uloom (Trinidad)