Are Kosher certified products Halaal?
If a product is certified as kosher, e.g. chicken or products which contain animal derivatives, does this mean that it is Halaal also?
I have also been told that Allah (S.W.T.) states in the that one is allowed to eat the meat of the people of the book ( Jews and Christians).
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
At the outset, it is important to understand that kosher foods or meats do not necessarily meet the requirements of halal. Due to major differences between Kosher and the requirements of Halaal according to Shari’ah, it is would not be permissible for a Muslim to rely on a Kosher approval.
The following is an excerpt from article by SANHA (South Africa.):
Whilst there are similarities in certain of the rituals, there are many differences that one may not be aware off, some of which we list below.
– Kosher meat cannot be regarded Halaal, since the present day Jewish method of slaughter in an abattoir environment does not include the recitation of the name of the Almighty upon each animal which is a requirement for Halaal slaughter.
– Islam prohibits all intoxicating alcohol whilst wines manufactured under rabbinic supervision and other intoxicating beverages such as beers and rum etc. are regarded as kosher. The kosher mark cannot make it Halaal.
– Islam considers the entire cattle as Halaal if it is slaughtered in accordance to the Shari’ah whilst according to Jews the hind quarter is forbidden.
– Gelatin is considered kosher by some Jewish authorities regardless of its source of origin. Muslims consider gelatin prepared from pork as Haraam and most Halaal authorities also do not accept gelatin from non-Halaal slaughtered animal origin as being Halaal either. Therefore food items that could contain gelatin with kosher symbols on products such as marshmallows, yoghurts etc are not automatically Halaal.
– Enzymes irrespective of their source are acceptable in cheese making and carry the kosher symbol whilst enzymes of pork origin are Haraam to Muslims.
– Jewish law permits use of pork bristle brush in food preparation whilst it is Haraam for Muslims.
Muslims accept and believe as an article of faith, the role of all the previous Prophets (Peace be upon them) and the scriptures revealed through them, it relies on the final verse of the final revelation revealed to the final Prophet (Peace be upon him) in his farewell pilgrimage to put matters into its proper perspective.
In the verse revealed it was stated “…this day have I perfected your religion for you and completed my favour upon you and chosen for you Islam as your religion.” (Surah 5: Verse 3)
The final divine laws of Islam are indeed perfect and best for followers. Consumption of Halaal increases spirituality and benefits us both now and in the Hereafter. There is no need to be dependent on any other sets of laws for convenience.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Mufti Arshad Ali
Darul Iftaa, Jaamia Madinatul Uloom (Trinidad)